Bread vs Bed – a budding baker’s dilema

A nourishing read for the budding baker

Will my foolish poolish look this good?

Foolishly seduced by the combination of Arsenal playing in the Champions League tonight, a bottle of Shepherd Neame Spitfire and Richard Bertinet’s book ‘Crust’, I have commenced a recipe involving a poolish ferment.

I am a fool. I have made this recipe before on a lazy weekend and should know better. It takes ages.

I used a good splash of the ale in the ferment and drank the rest. I am a little more foolish as a consequence.

I started the poolish ferment at 4.30pm and, after working the dough, resting and proofing and shaping and all, I may get to bed by 2am.

Mind you, Arsenal did win 5-0 and I’ve got lots of Eddie Izzard Marathon Man to watch into the small hours.

I’m full of beans now (10.36pm) but if I grow drowzy, this coul be a very foolish poolish.

Leave a comment

Filed under bread

Leave a Reply

